Bruce Reyes-Chow Daily Pic, 2010In January of 2010, on a whim, I started posting a picture each day called, “My life in pictures.” I really didn’t think I would make it all the way to day 365, but figured I would give it a shot.  Along the way, I lost track of the days, some days I forgot to take a picture and on others I just didn’t want to do it.  But for some reason, I plowed through and made it.  In the end, I forced myself to pay closer attention to a pretty wonderful world where I beleive God shows up in the magnificent as well as the mundane.  It was a great experience, I had some meaningful interactions along the way and, in the end, I was more observant of life around me.

But now I am done.

I never expected that I would do this for more than one year, so I have invited my family [see story here] to participate in an expanded Our Life in Pictures journey and I’ll post more sporadic pics and thoughts on my new posterous blog, Embracing the Gray.  One coolest results of this journey is seeing the number of folks who have decided to try it in 2011.  Lots of friends are taking up the challenge, so I thought I would leave some tips here and start collecting names.

A couple of tips . . .

  • Lighten up. If you have an addictive or overachieving personality – can’t think of anyone like that myself – cut yourself some slack about posting daily for 365 days by grouping days together. There will be times when you are on vacation or away . . . or *gasp* not able to connect to the internet.  And if you forget to take a picture one day, just pull a pic out from the past. Certainly, do not stop trying to post daily, but don’t let it get in the way of bathing, feeding your children or enjoying a latte as big as your hand. No one is grading you.
  • If you lose track of the dayI was off by 100 for about a week at one point – really no one is counting.  Every once in a while use this simple link that will remind you of what day you are supposed to be on: www.vpcalendar.net.
  • Don’t try to make every picture AWESOME! Part of why I think this journey is so intriguing to watch is that it is about the person taking the pics as much as it is about the pictures themselves.  Let this be unapologetically about you and and about how you see the world.
  • Share.  I posted my pics on posterous which then autoposted to my twitter feed and my facebook profile and facebook page.  This can certainly by jus for you, but why not let somet other folks in on the world through your eyes?  If you are a twitter person, be sure to use #dailypic.
  • Be open to how the complexity of the world may inspire and move you! Hopefully you will be surprised by what you see!

Here are some folks who have let me know that they are the challenge this year.*  Please follow them on twitter, subscribe to their blogs and enjoy.

Name Blog Twitter
Laura Bartholomew @lbartholomew
Mackintosh Barker http://spoanoke.tumblr.com @themackattack
Shawn Coons http://shawncoons.posterous.com @shawncoons
Katie Day http://katieinphotos.tumblr.com @ktday
Ann Deibert @annjolene
Addie Domskie http://addiedomske.tumblr.com @addiedomske
Megan Dosher http://megateer.posterous.com @megateer
Charlotte Elia http://blog.waterintobeer.com @charlotteelia
Rachel Gharza @rhgarza
Matt Gonzales http://zachgonzales.tumblr.com @zachgonzales
Mary Haddow http://2011inpictures.posterous.com @WeeRant
Josh Hale http://expatminister.posterous.com @expatminister
Jessi Higginbotham http://jessihigginbotham.tumblr.com @JessiLoo
James Kicklighter http://jameskick.posterous.com @jameskick
Mihee Kim-Kort http://miheekimkort.posterous.com @miheekimkort
Eric Ledermann http://ericoledermann.blogspot.com @ericledermann
Meagan Ludwig http://anewnarrative.posterous.com @beautifulxfeet
Amanda May Moore http://amandamaymoore.tumblr.com @ericledermann
Loren Newsom http://lnewsom.tumblr.com @newsiespaz
Barbara Nixon http://bbn365photos.posterous.com @barbaranixon
Kevin Nixon http://knixon85.posterous.com @kevinnixon
Jill Patterson Tolbert www.hospitalityhouse.blogspot.com
Reyes-Chow/Pugh Family http://ourlifeinpictures.posterous.com @rpugh and @breyeschow
Janelle Tibbetts Vaughan http://revjanelle.posterous.com @revjtv
Adam Walker Cleaveland http://adamwc.me @adamwc
Landon Whitsitt http://www.landonville.com @landonw

* I will do my best to keep this list updated.  If you would like to be added and/or have information changes, please leave a comment.

———-

And here is one more place to see what folks are doing around twitterland.  For those who use the “dailypic” hashtag, each tweet is grabbed below via Twubs.

Share:
Twitter
Facebook
Google+
Reddit
Follow by Email
RSS